Ridgewood NJ, “Spring has sprung, summer is coming and school will soon be out! The Ridgewood Police Department in partnership with Van Dyk’s Homemade Ice Cream, Ridgewood Walks and Ridgewood Press is excited to announce the 2019 Helmet Reward Program. Children observed by our police officers, properly wearing a helmet while riding a bicycle, skates or a skateboard, will be issued a certificate of safety making them eligible to receive one Free Ice Cream Cone! This program will be in effect until all certificates are given out to our safe young riders.
Research shows that helmet use while riding a bicycle can reduce the chance of sustaining a brain injury by 88%! Brain injury is the leading cause of death and disability among people under 24. As many as 80% of all deaths in bike crashes result from brain injury.
Our New Jersey Helmet Law
In New Jersey, anyone under 17 years of age that rides a bicycle or is a passenger on a bicycle, or is towed as a passenger by a bicycle must wear a safety helmet.
On August 1, 1998 this helmet law was extended to include roller and inline skates and skateboards. Roller skates means a pair of devices worn on the feet with a set of wheels attached, regardless of the number or placement of those wheels and used to glide or propel the user over the ground.
The definition of bicycle with reference to the helmet legislation is a vehicle with two wheels propelled solely by human power and having pedals, handle bars and a saddle-like seat. The term shall include a bicycle for two or more persons having seats and corresponding pedals arranged in tandem.
All helmets must be properly fastened and fitted. Bicycle helmets must meet the federal standards developed by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) effective March 10, 1999 that ensure the best head protection and strong chin straps to keep the helmet in place during a fall or collision. Also acceptable are helmets meeting the Snell Memorial Foundation’s 1990 Standard for Protection Headgear.
Exemptions from the helmet requirement are persons who operate or ride a bicycle (as a driver or a passenger) on a roadway closed to motor traffic; on a trail, route, course, boardwalk, path or area set aside only for the use of bicycles. These exemptions do not apply if the areas of operation are adjacent to a roadway and not separated from motor vehicle traffic by a barrier that prevents the bicycle from entering the roadway. Bicyclists or passengers operating in an area where helmets are not required who need to cross a road or highway should walk with the bicycle.
Initial violators of the helmet law will receive warnings. For minors, the parent or legal guardian may be fined a maximum of $25 for the 1 st offense and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offense(s), if lack of parental supervision contributed to the offense.
Bicycle salespersons and rental agents must display a sign at least 15 inches long and 8 inches wide at the point where the transaction is completed when they sell or rent a bicycle. This sign should read: “STATE LAW REQUIRES A BICYCLE RIDER UNDER 17 YEARS TO WEAR A HELMET.” In the case of bicycle rentals, the salesperson/rental agent must provide a helmet, if necessary, for a fee.”
From all of us at the Ridgewood Police Department, Have Fun and Ride Safely!”