RHS 2013 National Merit Scholarship Award finalists

RHS 2013 National Merit Scholarship Award finalists Vidushi Sharma, Thomas Lum, Anna Lenore Nathanson and Kyo San Ku pose for a photo with Principal Tom Gorman and Guidance Counselor Laura Moore.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is a United States academic scholarship competition for recognition and university scholarships administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a privately funded, not-for-profit organization. The program began in 1955. NMSC conducts two annual competitions for recognition and scholarships: the National Merit Scholarship Program, which is open to all students who meet entry requirements, and the National Achievement Scholarship Program (est. 1964) in which only African American students participate. The highest achieving students in the National Merit Scholarship Program are designated as National Merit Scholars, representing less than 1% of the initial pool of entrants.

The corporation’s headquarters are located in Evanston, Illinois. Finalists and semifinalists are also given recognition for their academic and extracurricular achievements. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Each year’s Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) is the qualifying test designated for entry to a particular year’s competitions.