December 5,2017
by Kevin Ryan

Washington DC, The Supreme Court has ruled that the government can fully enforce its travel ban on residents from 6 predominately Muslim nations. The ruling means President Trump’s travel ban can take full effect while legal challenges in the lower courts go forward, and suggests the court is likely to uphold the travel restrictions if lower courts attempt to strike them down.

People from Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen will now be banned from entry, even if they have a relationship with a U.S.-based person or institution. Lower courts had said people from those nations with a claim of a “bona fide” relationship with someone in the United States, including grandparents, cousins, and other relatives, could not be kept out of the country.

Only 2 of the 9 justices dissented, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Sonia Sotomayor.